Monday, January 18, 2010

And the winners are …

The ALA awards were announced today! Updated: I think they’re all here now, but I didn’t miss many (which is surprising, since I don’t type very fast). I left all the exclamations from the live blogging, but fixed the typos:

Newbery Award: “When You Reach Me” by Rebecca Stead

4 Newbery Honors: “Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice” by Phillip Hoose, “The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly, “Where the Mountain Meets the Moon” by Grace Lin, “The Mostly True Story of Homer P. Figg” by Rodman Philbrick

Caldecott Award: “The Lion and the Mouse” written and illustrated by Jerry Pinkney!

2 Caldecott Honors: “All the World” illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton Scanlon, “Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors” illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman

2011 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture: Lois Lowry

Theodore Seuss Geisel Award: “Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!” written and illustrated by Geoffrey Hayes

4 Geisel Honors: “I Spy Fly Guy!” written and illustrated by Tedd Arnold, “Little Mouse Gets Ready” written and illustrated by Jeff Smith, “Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends” written and illustrated by Wong Herbert Yee, “Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day” written by Kate McMullan, illustrated by R.W. Alley

Carnegie Medal: “Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus” produced by Paul R. Gagne, Weston Woods Studios, and Mo Willems

Sibert Award: “Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream” written by Tanya Lee Stone

3 Sibert Honors: “The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors” written by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tony Persiani, “Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11″ written and illustrated by Brian Floca, “Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice” written by Phillip Hoose,

Batchelder Award: “A Faraway Island” written by Annika Thor, translated by Linda Schenck

3 Batchelder Honors: “Big Wolf and Little Wolf” written by Nadine Brun-Cosme, illustrated by Olivier Tallee, translated by Claudia Bedrick, “Eidi” written by Bodil Bredsdorff, translated by Kathryn Mahaffy, “Moritito II: Guardian of the Darkness” Written by Nahoko Uehashi, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu, translated by Cathy Hirano

Pura Belpre Author Award: “Return to Sender” by Julie Alvarez

2 Pura Belpre Author Honors: “Diego: Bigger Than Life” written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz, “Federico Garcia Lorca” written by Georgina Lazaro, illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro

Pura Belpre Illustrator Award: “Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El dia de los ninos/El dia de los libros” illustrated by Rafael Lopez, written by Pat Mora

3 Pura Belpre Illustrator Honors: “Diego: Bigger Than Life” illustrated by David Diaz, written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, “My Abuelita” illustrated by Yuyi Morales, written by Tony Johnston, “Gracia Thanks” illustrated by John Parra, written Pat Mora

Odyssey Award (Audio Books): “Louise, Adventures of a Chicken”

3 Odyssey Honor Books: “In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber,” “Peace, Locomotion,”  “We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball”

Printz Award: “Going Bovine” by Libba Bray!!! OMG! Hooray!!! (This was the one I wanted to win! So happy for Libba!!!)

4 Printz Honors: “Charles and Emma: The Darwin’s Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman, “The Monstrumologist” by Rick Yancey, “Punkzilla” by Adam Rapp, “Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973” by John Barnes

YALSA Non-fiction Award: “Charles and Emma: The Darwin’s Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman

William C. Morris Award: “Flash Burnout” by L.K. Madigan!!! Congratulations L.K.!!!

Margaret A. Edwards Award: Jim Murphy

Coretta Scott King Author Award: “Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal,” by Vaunda Micheau Nelson (A Carolrhoda book!)

Coretta Scott King Author Honor: “Mare’s War” by Tanita S Davis

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award: “My People” illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr., written by Langston Hughes

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor: “The Negro Speaks of Rivers” illustrated by E.B. Lewis, written by Langston Hughes

Coretta Scott King / John Steptoe New Talent Award: “The Rock and The River” by Kekla Magoon – Congratulations Kekla!!

Coretta Scott King Virginia Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award: Walter Dean Meyers!

Schneider Family Book Awards for Teens: “Marcello in the Real World” by Francsico X. Stork

Schneider Family Book Awards for Middle Grades: “Anything But Typical” by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Schneider Family Book Awards for Young Children: “Django” written and illustrated by Bonnie Christensen

10 Alex Awards: “Stictches: A Memoir” by David Small, “Tunneling to the Center of the Earth” by Kevin Wilson, “Souless: An Alexia Tarabotti Novel,” by Gail Carriger, “My Abandonment” by Peter Rock, “The Magicians” by Lev Grossman, “The Kids Are All Right: A Memoir” by Diana Welch and Liz Welch with Amanda Welch and Dan Welch, “The Good Soldiers” by David Finkel, “Everything Matters!” by Ron Currie Jr., “The Bride’s Farewell” by Meg Rosoff, “The Boy who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope” by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer

* Want to know more about the awards and what they are for? Check out this great post by Elizabeth Bluemie.

* The official press release with all the awards can be found here.